Fedora 24

From Devel wiki for Sugar Labs
Jump to: navigation, search

Fedora.jpg Fedora® version page: 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 (rawhide) |
Fedora and the Infinity design logo are trademarks of Red Hat, Inc.

fedora 24

  • NOTE f24 is still just at branched and being tested
Use f23 for stable installs

Download f24 Beta

go/no go 5/5/2016
  • SoaS did not build in Beta. Use these links to see final Beta
It is hoped that SoaS will get into the final release.
It was fault in the builders that caused this to occur.[1]
[1] https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1315541
  • x86_64
https://kojipkgs.fedoraproject.org/compose//branched/Fedora-24-20160505.n.0/compose/Spins/x86_64/iso/Fedora-SoaS-Live-x86_64-24-20160505.n.0.iso
  • i386
https://kojipkgs.fedoraproject.org/compose//branched/Fedora-24-20160505.n.0/compose/Spins/i386/iso/Fedora-SoaS-Live-i386-24-20160505.n.0.iso
  • torrents
https://torrent.fedoraproject.org/torrents/

DNF System Upgrade

update f23 to f24 Beta
  • worked for Soas f23 to f24
05/05/2016

https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/DNF_system_upgrade

Fedora Media Writer

  • Revised installer
Updated 4/13/2016
Destined to be Primary installer in linux; Windows; Mac [1]
Only Downloads f23 iso's
Use Custom OS for testing .iso's you have already downloaded
iso selection Starts in / ; go to Home/(user)/Downloads to find them (select with double click)
  • Main Screen (note Fedora Spins - Including KDE - are accessed from [ : ] at bottom
Error creating thumbnail: File missing
  • Custom OS
Error creating thumbnail: File missing
Error creating thumbnail: File missing
  • Fedora Spins [ : ]
Error creating thumbnail: File missing
Error creating thumbnail: File missing
  • LiveUSBCreator as Primary Downloadable
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1310542 [1]
  • RPMS
http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/packageinfo?packageID=6691
  • Test Day
https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Test_Day:2016-04-19_Fedora_Media_Writer

Bugs

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1320279
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1310542
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1324600
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1328369
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1328457
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1288080 tracking bug
  • f24 Common Bugs:
https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Common_F24_bugs#32bit-no-boot

Developer Portal

Download

  • Matix of successful builds: f24 and f25 rawhide
https://www.happyassassin.net/nightlies.html
http://mirrors.rit.edu/fedora/fedora/linux/development/24/Spins/
http://mirrors.rit.edu/fedora/alt/development/24/Labs/
http://mirrors.rit.edu/fedora/fedora/linux/development/24/Spins/
http://mirrors.rit.edu/fedora/alt/development/24/Labs/
05/13/2016
https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Workstation/Tasklist

wayland in rawhide

  • Workstation now is using wayland by default
Users will be able to disable wayland by setting WaylandEnable=false
in /etc/gdm/custom.conf but there will no longer be two separate menu
  • update:
GDM Menu updated to:
gnome (wayland
gnome-classic
x-gnome
  • Wayland By Default
https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Changes/WaylandByDefault#Scope


https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1214655
https://ask.fedoraproject.org/en/question/75924/fedora-23-wayland-gnome-terminal-mouse-middle-click-paste/
  • WARNING
Do not use any fedora 24 (rawhide) installs for anything but testing.
This works in f23 virtual manager: https://kojipkgs.fedoraproject.org/mash/rawhide-20151111/rawhide/x86_64/os/images/boot.iso
https://kojipkgs.fedoraproject.org/mash/rawhide/
  • For latest builds:
https://apps.fedoraproject.org/releng-dash/
All
http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/tasks?start=0&state=all&view=flat&method=createLiveCD&order=-id
Alternate: (Still f23)
http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/tasks?owner=ausil&state=all&view=flat&method=createLiveCD&order=-id
http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/tasks?owner=pbrobinson&state=all&view=flat&method=createLiveCD&order=-id
  • How to test if you are using wayland
1) You can check if you're on wayland by running
$ ls -l $XDG_RUNTIME_DIR/wayland-0
if it returns a socket you're probably using wayland.
2)'xrandr' is easier to type... Output names have WAYLAND in them under wayland.

How to debug Wayland

Fedora Package Information search

Available environment groups

  • example command line
dnf groupinstall workstation-product-environment
sudo dnf group list -v
sudo dnf group list hidden -v
*Available environment groups:
  Minimal Install (minimal-environment)
  Fedora Server (server-product-environment)
  Fedora Workstation (workstation-product-environment)
  Fedora Cloud Server (cloud-server-environment)
  KDE Plasma Workspaces (kde-desktop-environment)
  Xfce Desktop (xfce-desktop-environment)
  LXDE Desktop (lxde-desktop-environment)
  Hawaii Desktop (hawaii-desktop-environment)
  LXQt Desktop (lxqt-desktop-environment)
  MATE Desktop (mate-desktop-environment)
  Sugar Desktop Environment (sugar-desktop-environment)
  Development and Creative Workstation (developer-workstation-environment)
  Web Server (web-server-environment)
  Infrastructure Server (infrastructure-server-environment)
  Basic Desktop (basic-desktop-environment)
*Available groups:
  Administration Tools (admin-tools)
  Ansible node (ansible-node)
  Audio Production (audio)
  Authoring and Publishing (authoring-and-publishing)
  Books and Guides (books)
  C Development Tools and Libraries (c-development)
  Cloud Infrastructure (cloud-infrastructure)
  Cloud Management Tools (cloud-management)
  Container Management (container-management)
  D Development Tools and Libraries (d-development)
  Design Suite (design-suite)
  Development Tools (development-tools)
  Domain Membership (domain-client)
  Fedora Eclipse (eclipse)
  Editors (editors)
  Educational Software (education)
  Electronic Lab (electronic-lab)
  Engineering and Scientific (engineering-and-scientific)
  FreeIPA Server (freeipa-server)
  Games and Entertainment (games)
  Headless Management (headless-management)
  LibreOffice (libreoffice)
  MATE Applications (mate-applications)
  MATE Compiz (mate-compiz)
  Medical Applications (medical)
  Milkymist (milkymist)
  Network Servers (network-server)
  Office/Productivity (office)
  Robotics (robotics-suite)
  RPM Development Tools (rpm-development-tools)
  Security Lab (security-lab)
  Sound and Video (sound-and-video)
  System Tools (system-tools)
  Text-based Internet (text-internet)
  3D Printing (3d-printing)
  Window Managers (window-managers)

Assigning a USB in Virtual Manger